Courses

High Angle Medical Rescue (HAMR)
January 8-10 & 15-17, 2020
In Kentucky’s Red River Gorge


This 50-hour course will train participants to the NFPA 1006 Chapter 6 level for Rope Rescue Technician Level 1, as well as deliver 17.25 hours of EMS continuing education appropriate for both the BLS and ALS level. The curriculum focuses on wilderness settings, and the integration of a healthcare-level standard of patient care into high angle rescue. Instruction will take place in the Red River Gorge. Class will be held virtually on each Friday evening, and run approximately 10 hours each day on Saturday and Sunday in person.

Instructors are members of the Red River Gorge Special Treatment, Access, and Rescue (RedSTAR) team, who are also active members of area fire departments, FEMA US&R task forces, university faculty, and EMS special operations teams.

Topics include:

  • Basic rope rescue techniques
  • Knots, anchors, and belay systems
  • Descending and ascending on rope systems, including rappelling
  • Self-rescue techniques
  • Litter rigging & tending
  • Team-based rescue approaches
  • Pharmacology
  • Patient assessment in the high angle environment
  • Use of ventilators in the wilderness
  • Multi-system trauma care
  • High angle medical emergencies
  • Prolonged field care
  • Multiple integrated scenarios

To view more information and to register through Eventbrite, click:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/january-2021-high-angle-medical-rescue-course-registration-128346599133

Lodging options in the Red River Gorge area include:

Cabin Rentals
Red River Gorge Cabin Rentals- https://www.redrivergorgecabinrentals.com/
Scenic Cabin Rentals- https://www.sceniccabin.com/
Stay Over Now- https://stayovernow.com/

Hostels
Bedrock- https://www.bedrockrrg.com/
Skybridge Station- https://skybridgestation.weebly.com/

Hotels, Motels, and Lodges
Natural Bridge State Park Lodge- https://parks.ky.gov/slade/parks/resort/natural-bridge-state-resort-park
Black Bear Motel- https://www.sceniccabin.com/black-bear-motel/
Chocolat Inn- https://www.chocolat-inn.com/
Hampton Inn Winchester- https://www.hilton.com/en/hotels/lexwihx-hampton-winchester/
Comfort Inn Winchester- https://www.choicehotels.com/kentucky/winchester/comfort-inn-hotels/ky275
Lil’ Abners- http://lilabnersmotel.com/

Campgrounds
LOTA- http://landofthearches.com/
Lago Linda- https://lagolinda.com/
Middelfork Campground- https://parks.ky.gov/slade/lodging/camping/middle-fork-campground
Koomer Ridge Campground- https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/dbnf/recarea/?recid=39462
Natural Bridge Campground- https://www.naturalbridgecampground.com/

AirBnB
The Brick- https://www.facebook.com/The-Brick-at-The-Red-River-Gorge-108271137762432/
Climb-On Inn-https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/154065?source_impression_id=p3_1605850422_0S8I3bJkhmZXfa1F

RV Parks
4 Guys- http://www.4guysrvpark.com/
Callie’s- https://www.callieslakeandcampground.com/