Advanced Wilderness Life Support (AWLS) Course

July 19-22, 2021

Natural Bridge State Resort Park

The AWLS certification is appropriate for any licensed medical professional, or medical professional in training, who has an interest in wilderness medicine. This course balances didactic learning with realistic, hands-on scenarios that emphasize technical skill. To learn more about the AWLS organization and curriculum, visit www.awls.org.

A pre-requisite for this course is a professional healthcare certification, such as EMT, RN, APRN, PA, MD/DO, or status as a student in such a field. This is not a WFA/WFR course.

Instructors are physicians, APRNs, Paramedics, and EMTs who are active members of wilderness rescue teams and nationally-known subject matter experts.

Topics covered include:

  • Rescue Medicine
  • Airway management
  • Communications
  • Pharmacology
  • Prolonged Field Care
  • Animal, Insect, Arthropod, & Marine envenomations
  • Avalanche Response
  • Dive Medicine
  • HEENT problems
  • High Altitude Problems
  • Hyperthermia, Hypothermia & Frostbite treatment
  • Wilderness Infectious Disease
  • Lightning Injuries
  • Medical kits & Specialized Equipment
  • Medical Problems
  • Patient Movement in the Wilderness
  • Patient Assessment
  • Patient Packaging, Evacuation, and Rope Rescue
  • Submersion Injuries
  • Water Disinfection & Purification
  • Wound & Musculoskeletal Injuries Management

Registration price is $550 for non-physicians, and $695 for physicians. Price includes light breakfast & lunch each day, continuous refreshments, and two-year certification.

To register, visit https://www.eventbrite.com/e/awls-slade-ky-tickets-153022784267

Lodging is available through Natural Bridge State Resort Park at $114.95/night for a room with 2 Queen beds. Additional local lodging options are available below.

AWLS is approved for approximately 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits through the Wilderness Medical Society. The AWLS program is also approved by ACEP, AAFP and AAPA, and can be used for EMS and Nursing CEUs hour-for-hour as approved.

Additional lodging options in the Red River Gorge area include:

Cabin Rentals
Red River Gorge Cabin Rentals- https://www.redrivergorgecabinrentals.com/
Scenic Cabin Rentals- https://www.sceniccabin.com/
Stay Over Now- https://stayovernow.com/

Hostels
Bedrock- https://www.bedrockrrg.com/
Skybridge Station- https://skybridgestation.weebly.com/

Hotels, Motels, and Lodges
Natural Bridge State Park Lodge- https://parks.ky.gov/slade/parks/resort/natural-bridge-state-resort-park
Black Bear Motel- https://www.sceniccabin.com/black-bear-motel/
Chocolat Inn- https://www.chocolat-inn.com/
Hampton Inn Winchester- https://www.hilton.com/en/hotels/lexwihx-hampton-winchester/
Comfort Inn Winchester- https://www.choicehotels.com/kentucky/winchester/comfort-inn-hotels/ky275
Lil’ Abners- http://lilabnersmotel.com/

Campgrounds
LOTA- http://landofthearches.com/
Lago Linda- https://lagolinda.com/
Middelfork Campground- https://parks.ky.gov/slade/lodging/camping/middle-fork-campground
Koomer Ridge Campground- https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/dbnf/recarea/?recid=39462
Natural Bridge Campground- https://www.naturalbridgecampground.com/

AirBnB
The Brick- https://www.facebook.com/The-Brick-at-The-Red-River-Gorge-108271137762432/
Climb-On Inn-https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/154065?source_impression_id=p3_1605850422_0S8I3bJkhmZXfa1F

RV Parks
4 Guys- http://www.4guysrvpark.com/
Callie’s- https://www.callieslakeandcampground.com/